BISM Normalizer: Version 3.1 Released!

Download it from the Visual Studio Gallery.

Enhancements in Version 3.1

Command-line execution

Run BISM Normalizer from the command line passing the BSMN file as an argument. This allows integration with automated builds.

Syntax
BismNormalizer.exe BsmnFile [/Log:LogFile] [/Script:ScriptFile]
   [/Skip:{MissingInSource | MissingInTarget | DifferentDefinitions}]

 

Arguments

BsmnFile

Full path to the .bsmn file.

/Log:LogFile

All messages are output to LogFile. If the log file already exists, the contents will be replaced.

/Script:ScriptFile

Does not perform actual update to target database; instead, a deployment script is generated and stored to ScriptFile.

/Skip:{MissingInSource | MissingInTarget | DifferentDefinitions}

Skip all objects that are missing in source, missing in target, or with different definitions. This is in addition to the skip actions already defined in the BSMN file.

It is possible to pass a comma-separated list of multiple skip options. For example, “/Skip:MissingInSource,DifferentDefinitions” will skip all objects that are missing in source and those with different definitions.

Automated merging of branches

The /Skip argument can be used for automated merging of branches. For example, by setting /Skip:MissingInSource, it is possible to create/update new/modified objects in a primary branch, without deleting existing ones.

Examples

The following example updates the target database, logging progress and error messages for later review.

BismNormalizer.exe TabularCompare1.bsmn /Log:log.txt

 

The following example does not update the target database. Instead, a script is generated and progress is logged.

BismNormalizer.exe TabularCompare1.bsmn /Log:log.txt /Script:script.xmla

 

The following example updates the target database and progress is logged. None of the objects missing in source are deleted.

BismNormalizer.exe TabularCompare1.bsmn /Log:log.txt /Skip:MissingInSource

 

Passwords and processing

BISM Normalizer in command-line mode does not automatically set passwords for impersonated accounts. They need to be set separately, either manually or securely as part of a build. Processing also needs to be set up separately if required.

Executable location

BISM Normalizer currently only supports standard VSIX deployment from the Visual Studio Gallery. BismNormalizer.exe is located in the extension directory, which looks like “C:\Users\XXX\AppData\Local\Microsoft\VisualStudio\14.0\Extensions\XXX\”, and is shown in the log file produced by the VSIX installer (link available on the installation complete dialog). The executables can be copied to another location using XCOPY deployment.


Translations

To enable this feature, ensure the include cultures check box is checked.

Cultures.png

Comparing cultures works similarly to comparing perspectives. Both have a merge option. This allows existing translations in the target culture to be retained. See this post for more info on merging perspectives and translations.

The JSON order of translations in the source/target text boxes is honored from the BIM file/database definition. In some cases they may have different order, but still considered equal since the JSON order doesn’t affect translation functionality.

Merge Perspectives/Translations in BISM Normalizer

When merging models, it may be useful to create selections from a source perspective without losing existing selections that were already there in the target.

The same applies to translations for a culture.

Merge perspectives

Consider the following comparison taken with the merge perspectives option checked.

Perspective comparison

Note that the differences in the target object definition are highlighted in grey instead of the normal red. This is to indicate that they will not be removed.

After applying the update (assuming FactRate is still in the target database) and re-running the comparison, the following definitions are displayed.

After update

For the purpose of the comparison, the definitions are considered the same because an update would have no effect.

However, if the merge perspectives option is unchecked and the comparison is re-run, the definitions are considered different as shown below.

Different definitions

A subsequent update will remove selections for the FactRate table.

This works basically the same way for cultures. When the merge translations checkbox is checked, existing translations will not be removed. Different translations for an object property that is both in the source and target cultures will be overwritten.